The Monkstown Village Tidy District group was set up in 2017. Our prime interest is in keeping the village tidy and attractive, but we also do a number of other things to enhance our community. We enter the annual Tidy District competition run by Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council which provides a benchmark about how well we are doing.

How we work

We are an unincorporated body which operates a Committee with a Constitution and complies with best practice as a not-for-profit community organisation.

Our Committee meets approximately monthly and we have an AGM in April each year. At this we present an annual report on our activities, annual accounts, and have an election for the positions of Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer, as well as committee members. Paid-up members of the group are eligible to attend and vote.

Our income comes from personal memberships, support from local businesses and grants from DLRCC, while our spending goes mainly on equipment & materials, insurance, running events & projects. We have an accountant prepare our financial statements each year for presentation at our AGM.

We are a member of the DLRCC Public Participation Network which provides valuable support to over 400 community and voluntary bodies in the county.


The current Committee consists of:

Anne Harrington, Brendan McCormack (Secretary), Brendan Walsh (Treasurer), John Edmondson (Chair), Martha Torsney, Michael Garvey, Paula Corcoran and Teri Hayes.

If you have any questions or suggestions about how we might do more for the community, please let us know at monkstowntidydistrict@gmail.com